Becoming an ‘Artist’ whilst representing Joan As Police Woman In Northampton. šŸ’•

Joan As Police Woman

Hollie May reflects & discusses on how far she has came through with her ‘Music Career‘. Where she is at right now! Even though this will be included in Edgy On Film watch the trailer. As we reflect on how far Hollie May has came over the last three years to get here. Edgy On Film is almost here crazy the believe it right? My own montage film about my life & how I got here with my music issa mad ting’. Which isn’t too far away now. Reflecting on how far she has came from surviving an alcoholic & drug addiction to where she is now. šŸ‘šŸ½


Hollie May, 2018

Artist After The Break-up..

Along the journey I spent roughly two years figuring what genre of music to do what shall I produce, in music in other words what shall I do to stay different in the music scene. Music is my entire life. Well I have always wrote songs about relationships to heartache now that I’m grown, there’s always a spark hidden in soul music naturally we all feel it.. Writing about relationship & dealing with or facing the real suitation that’s happening to me has always been my thing. Being in love is like my favourite thing cause it’s just about one person; it’s all bout treating one another with kindness & love. Intimacy affection etc. When I write about somebody that I love.. I’m coming in with open arms & giving my entire all. To me its important to highlight & put the pieces together, I am fascinated when it comes to affection; inspired by all kinds of things round relationship & the human mind to body. For me I don’t wanna be that song writer who sings about themselves to me I find that boring it’s not what I do. I love singing about the person who can’t wait to kiss me or have me in their arms at night. No! I’m not saying I don’t enjoy single life nothing like that I’ve always fallen in love with love, lyrically & musically. Many things inspired me but my top three is the wind outside, what’s around me when I walk around, the gigs I go to – to travels.. of course intimacy.

My Love Life Is My Muse..

My love life is the first muse before any other inspiration I find along the way when it comes down to recording also producing. I’m lucky to have it infront all around me when it comes to mixing creating a unique song. Song writing to me almost holding on to your own heart you know it’s beating when you sing you come alive. I grew up to people like Donny Hathaway & Dinah Washington they really both taught me that matter what you are going through let your own lyrics ‘tell your own story’ whatever that journey maybe. In my creative song writing I admit so much to myself; I have never been afraid of singing about what is going in my life. You know’ Soul Music is just pure & rare so real these days it’s hard to listen or find anything that sounds real.. cause we live in such a technical crazy world some people still find the word “difference” as a threat. Everyone has story behind their appearance maybe that’s what makes everyone who they are. It’s the same with music. You have to learn how to embrace your own different because their is only one of you in this world. As far as I can remember listening to songs & artist who just sing about their love just makes me feel so good. You know the songs from The Ronnettes to Carol King & Etta James.. I’m so heavily attracted to these kinds of music pieces. Not just how the songs are carried/delivered; in Soul Music their is so much mysterioury & darkness with a whole lot of heart. I think to sing or write soul you have to use your gut & heart to sing any song make it sound how it should sound or maybe the way you choose to produce it. For me I have spent so many years educating myself on many kinds of music. Just listening watching documentaries from reading biography books; I love to dive in deep with backstories behind the music. Aretha Franklin to Amy Winehouse the list of artists goes on.


Play The Music & Sing The Truth.

In 2018 through to 2019 Hollie May came out of an addictive controlling relationship with a woman who was twice her age, which involved heavy amount of drugs & alcohol, psychical also emotional abuse. Hollie wrote her first Album in 2018 capturing everything on lyrics in a local pub the pomfret arms in Northampton, also in a local Marina surroundings of river boats. This was the first Album Hollie May ever wrote about a tough time in her life that she struggled with handling/battling on her own during a real tough time.

Hollie May Pills And Alcoholfirst Debut Single

Pills And Alcohol was written about the aftermath of the relationship coming out from the other side. Hollie May wrote the entire song whilst in tears & bruises feeling more than alone that she has ever felt in her life-time. The love she gave was never enough nor receiving anything positive from the person she was so deeply in love with at the time. This song truly reflects on what love & self control can really effect on somebody including any form of addiction with drugs to alcohol when being mixed together. Hollie May got into a drunken fight near the end of this relation that was so near to killing her, being spiked punched kicked down to the pavement in Becket’s Park earlier than 8am in the morning. During the stage Hollie May wrote this song fully she couldn’t stand up right or feel parts of face from her stomach waist down. It was taken to court sadly not enough evidence.

Writing about a relationship that nearly killed me felt like it was the only way for me to fully move forward with my life, the love was never enough of course it’s heartbreaking. Lyrics were the only survival for this way out.

Hollie May 2021

WritingPills And Alcohol‘ was a tough emotional heartbreaking time in my life, it’s a song I look back on (even though it sinks my heart everytime I perform it). A reminder that you can “Fight back any addiction that you are facing“. Hollie May produced the Music Video to Watch Here!

When I was making the ‘Visual’ I was very much so inspired by Anthony & The Johnsons, I wanted my first visual to be fragile nurturing full of emotion in patterns in odd places. Anthony has beauty in his work I wanted to create ‘my own of beauty’ using my appearance in sequins & self confidence.

Hollie May – 2021

Hollie May The Beauty, That’s Around Mesecond Debut Single

Writing this song it took me a good couple of months for it to find me until one night I was lying in my jacket sucking my smoke with Joan in my messages whilst being a little drunk at my friend’s flat. Completely stoned however we was listening to kinds of music & talking about or local music scene. Basically a night out with friends..

Out of nowhere I sung the chorus whilst casually walking down the road one day, hearing the music behind me.. just turned up recorded the song.

Since being close friends with Joan I wanted to give something back to her aka us this song says it all, because everywhere I go or whatever I’m feeling Joan is all around me. Cause I listen to her everyday and night not just that we talk our friendship is the best. It’s awesome to have her in my life šŸ¤£ I’m forever kindly promoting her out of love. That’s what I did during Covid modelling in her merchandise. I’ve been helping Joan pretty much since 2006 nobody told me to do it! I just did it! All out of love & being a nice person. Truth is I’ve been wanting to release a song for Joan for many years now that it’s the right time it’s officially here. My parents think I’m obsessed with her that’s not true, Joan has been there with me throughout good & bad times, through the very painful to my most happiest times. We teach, we learn new things together most importantly remind one another that we make it through anything of course build each other up no matter how we are feeling. Having Joan as my bestest friend is the moost coolest thing it ain’t because she’s famous that not important what’s important is that she’s just a message away. There’s always I love you or OMG!!! WHAT THE I wouldn’t have it any other way. We love each other so much.

In a way my Covid experience wasn’t all bad this whole song & era was a real spell for me as a young song writer. It feels amazing to look back on this for sure. I would love to release an Album next for sure!

I’ve always wanted to dedicate one of my own songs to Joan Wasser it was a dream of mine to produce on something & give it back. The Beauty, That’s Around Me is a reflection of our friendship since the day met. It’s one of my favourite songs that I have wrote for sure it makes me smile. I still can’t believe that I wrote it & released it.

Hollie May 2021

Positive Vibes & Love.

After releasing these Singles.. During Covid I got closer & made new friends who are in the Music Industry & Scene these are some bands.. artist. I am a very lucky woman to even get to this point in my music career.

Joan As Policewoman Joan Wasser
Joan As Policewoman

Representing Joan As Policewoman through my little broadcast over on YouNow to Modelling in her Merchandise, spreading the word around this journey has been an honour. Course I won’t stop helping her it feels surreal to be representing her in Northampton.

Parker Kindred Dave Dearby The Dambuilders
Black Beetle

Becoming friends with Parker Kindred who is Joan’s drummer also Dave Derby who was in the band The Dambuilders back in the nineties. I have no words accept these fellas are total badasses. Thank you for supporting me & becoming a good friend. This was another unexpected surprise during Covid not just casual conversation mentoring to. I feel like I know the best people šŸ¤˜šŸ½ nothing beats becoming good friends supporting one another behind the music including infront.

Ronnie Spector The Ronnettes
Ronnie Spector aka The Ronettes

It all started with me compliment Ronnie on one her Facebook Page posts I couldn’t resist so I just gave in, since then I’ve been supporting Ronnie since – Our friendship is lovely I feel honoured to be a good friends of Ronnie’s. Total legend.

Social Media:Ā LinktreeĀ Instagram @Ndilhm.xĀ 


Leave a comment